Upstox US stocks: charges, fees, how it works (2026)
Upstox US stocks: 0.25% brokerage, max $25. GIFT City IFSC route via own IFSCA entity, Alpaca Securities clearing, 8,000+ stocks and 2,000+ ETFs, free repatriation. Full fee breakdown.
Upstox launched US stock investing in September 2026 through its own IFSCA-registered GIFT City subsidiary — the only new entrant among the four major Indian brokers to build a dedicated IFSC entity rather than relying on a partner. It clears through Alpaca Securities and offers a broad universe of 8,000+ stocks and 2,000+ ETFs.
This guide covers every fee, how the platform works, and how it compares.
How Upstox US stocks works
US stock investing is integrated into the Upstox app. Upstox operates its own IFSCA-registered subsidiary in GIFT City — a structural differentiator from Zerodha (ViewTrade), Groww (Alpaca GIFT City entity), and Angel One (Vested Finance Inc.). Having its own entity gives Upstox more direct control over the regulatory relationship.
Transfer mechanism: Domestic NEFT/IMPS. No SWIFT, no A2 form, no 15CA/15CB. A $100 minimum initial deposit applies.
Full fee breakdown
| Fee | Amount |
|---|---|
| Account opening | ₹0 |
| Annual platform fee | ₹0 |
| Minimum deposit | $100 |
| Brokerage | 0.25% per trade |
| Brokerage minimum | $0.01 |
| Brokerage maximum | $25 per trade |
| FX markup | Not publicly disclosed (estimated 1–3.5%) |
| Withdrawal / repatriation | ₹0 |
| TCS | 0% up to ₹10L/year; 20% above |
Brokerage at different trade sizes
| Trade size | Brokerage | Effective rate |
|---|---|---|
| $100 (≈₹8,500) | $0.25 | 0.25% |
| $1,000 (≈₹85,000) | $2.50 | 0.25% |
| $5,000 (≈₹4.25L) | $12.50 | 0.25% |
| $10,000 (≈₹8.5L) | $25.00 (capped) | 0.25% |
| $20,000 (≈₹17L) | $25.00 (capped) | 0.125% |
The $25 cap kicks in at $10,000 per trade. Older platforms like Vested and INDmoney cap at $35 (kicks in at $14,000). For trades between $10,000 and $14,000, Upstox is marginally cheaper.
FX markup
Upstox has not publicly disclosed its FX markup rates. Based on market estimates and comparison with similar GIFT City platforms, the markup is expected in the 1–3.5% range. Check the in-app rate before every transfer — this is your largest variable cost.
For context: a 1% markup on ₹10 lakh costs approximately ₹10,000; a 2% markup costs approximately ₹20,000.
Stock universe
Upstox offers 8,000+ US stocks and 2,000+ ETFs — a broad universe covering most of the NYSE/NASDAQ universe excluding the very smallest micro-caps. Fractional shares are available, though the minimum deposit is $100.
This is wider than Zerodha (~2,000 stocks) and comparable to Groww (10,000+) and Angel One (10,000+).
Free repatriation: a real advantage
Upstox charges no platform fee on repatriation (bringing USD proceeds back to INR in India). This is identical to INDmoney and Groww, and contrasts with:
- Vested Basic: $5 per withdrawal
- Vested Premium: 2 free withdrawals/year, then $5
- Rovia: $5 platform fee per repatriation
For investors who repatriate regularly (quarterly or annually), zero withdrawal fees save $20–$40/year vs Vested Basic — equivalent to several brokerage trades.
TCS and tax treatment
Upstox's GIFT City route is LRS-compliant:
- 0% TCS up to ₹10L/year in investment remittances
- 20% TCS above ₹10L/year
Section 10(4D) potential capital gains exemption may apply — verify with a CA.
Upstox vs alternatives
Choose Upstox if:
- You are already an Upstox user — same app, no extra KYC
- You want free repatriation (no withdrawal fee)
- You need a broad stock universe (8,000+ stocks, 2,000+ ETFs)
- The $100 minimum deposit is not a barrier
Choose Zerodha over Upstox if:
- You want lower brokerage (0.1% vs 0.25%) — Zerodha is clearly cheaper on brokerage
- You invest at trade sizes where Zerodha's $10 cap saves more than Upstox's $25 cap
Choose Groww over Upstox if:
- You need maximum stock universe (10,000+ vs 8,000+)
- Your typical trades are above $1,000 where Groww's 0.1% beats Upstox's 0.25%
Choose INDmoney over Upstox if:
- You want ITR-format lot-level tax reports
- You want OTC stock access
- You want a multi-year operating track record
Related reading
- Upstox vs Vested for US stocks
- Upstox vs INDmoney for US stocks
- Best US stock platform for Indians 2026
Vested.blog is the editorial publication of Rovia.
Frequently asked questions
- What does Upstox charge for US stocks? ▾
- Upstox charges 0.25% brokerage per trade, minimum $0.01, maximum $25. There is no annual platform fee and no withdrawal fee on repatriation. The brokerage rate is the same as Vested Basic and INDmoney, but the $25 cap (vs $35 on older platforms) is slightly better at large trade sizes.
- Does Upstox have its own GIFT City entity? ▾
- Yes. Upstox is the only new entrant among the four major Indian brokers (Zerodha, Groww, Upstox, Angel One) with its own dedicated IFSCA-registered GIFT City subsidiary. Zerodha, Groww, and Angel One operate through partner IFSC entities (ViewTrade, Alpaca, Vested Finance Inc. respectively).
- Is there a minimum deposit for Upstox US stocks? ▾
- Yes. Upstox requires a minimum deposit of $100 to open a US stocks account. This is higher than Zerodha and Groww (fractional from $1) but is a one-time threshold, not an ongoing balance requirement.
- Does Upstox charge for repatriation (withdrawal)? ▾
- No. Upstox does not charge a platform fee for repatriation. This contrasts with Vested Basic ($5 per withdrawal) and matches INDmoney (also free repatriation).
Found this useful? Share it.
Help another Indian working with US RSUs or LRS not get blindsided by this stuff.
About the author

Co-Founder & Chief Product Officer, Rovia
IIT Bombay + IIM Calcutta. Founding PM at Aspora (largest NRI fintech). 6+ years covering Indian-resident US investing, LRS compliance, Schedule FA, and ITR-2 filing for AY 2026-27.
More about Arnav →Get more like this in your inbox
One practical post a week on US investing & RSU strategy.
Comments
No comments yet. Be the first.
Keep reading
Angel One US stocks: charges, fees, how it works (2026)
Angel One US stocks: zero brokerage until December 2026, then 0.1% min $0.99. GIFT City IFSC route via Vested Finance Inc., 10,000+ stocks and ETFs. Full fee breakdown and what changes in January 2027.
Groww US stocks: charges, fees, how it works (2026)
Groww US stocks: 0.1% brokerage or $1 min. GIFT City IFSC route, Alpaca Securities clearing, 10,000+ stocks and ETFs. Full fee breakdown, FX markup, TCS, and tax treatment.
Upstox vs INDmoney for US stocks: which is better? (2026)
Upstox: 0.25% max $25, GIFT City, own IFSCA entity, free withdrawal. INDmoney: 0.25% max $35, GIFT City, lot-level ITR tax docs, OTC access. Real cost comparison.